Timeline

3.9
Based on 195 Reviews
google
Kirsty Craig
May 5, 2024

We love this place, just been back for a 2nd time, lovely staff, amazing food, very clean. Will be our new Sunday night curry spot for sure. Highly recommend. Bhindi masala and saag paneer were sensational.

google
Sampoorna Laxmi
April 9, 2024

Food was ok. 50-50 service was terrible. there was just 1 family before we went.. we ordered the kids food as soon as we went.. but the food came after 1 hour. By the time the food came the kids got kranky

The food here is very delicious. I really like the bajre ki roti here. This is not found in other Indian restaurants in Auckland. This is a Vegetarian restaurant and I would recommend you to visit this place if you want to explore a variety of vegetarian Indian dishes. The service is good too.

google
Vamsi Nunna
January 26, 2024

Food was delicious, catered to differing levels of spice as well and service was quick and great!!

google
sarvesh jain
January 18, 2024

Services are quite good. Food is delicious with lovely environment

google
Paul E
January 17, 2024

The best indian food I have had in a long time. This was our group's favorite restaurant in New Zealand.

google
bombayvikas1
January 10, 2024

Great food. Highly recommended. Food is authentic and best of all….its a full vegetarian place.

google
Jay Pandya
January 5, 2024

Dosa plaza was fully booked and that's why we visited Steam and it was ... again as usual ......Ekdam Bekar.... We visited on 1st January for dinner..it is not a fake review . Rather than Working hard on arguing focus on improving quality and customer service..

google
roomi palsetia
January 4, 2024

Excellent food. We had Pavbhaji, Medhuwada, Plain Dosa and Chaas. Everything was delicious. Highly recommend this place for foodies like us. Meal portions were very good as well

google
jagdish mehta
January 2, 2024

Testy food, amicable service, nice place to have goodveg food.

google
Swetha Sankar
December 26, 2023

Delicious food and excellent service! They kindly accommodated us when we arrived near closing time. Highly recommend!!

google
Dipesh Marwah
November 12, 2023

Reallly enjoyed the service and food today at Steam. We had the Gujarati Thali. It was very delectable and offered a good variety of dishes. We'd definitely go back again.

google
Mumtaj Agarbattiwala
November 11, 2023

I use to praise and recommend this place. Today’s experience is; the worst food and service. Too Much salt, North Indian style Gujarati kadhi, Subji and roti. They took Subji back to make salt at correct proportion, came back with water in it.

google
Dhruvin Barot
October 15, 2023

Best food in the Town for Vegetarians 🌱😃 Cooked like Home food , no artificial colour or Spice.. Authentic Food. ❤️🥰

google
Seline mudliar
October 10, 2023

Average taste on food. Asked for some dishes and drinks showen in website was told doesn't have. No music in restaurant told the waiter to put music on and service not good took so long for food to arrive. We paid $280 for food not worth it. I don't recommend it going for special occasion. Was quite disappointed on food quality. The photos showing in website is nothing like that.

google
Mayank Kumar
October 7, 2023

The service is horrible. We ordered doses at 1.30pm but they were served at 2.15pm. We asked for crispy but they were soggy. We asked spicy, they made it sweet. Overall, it was a horrible experience and will never go or suggest anyone to this restaurant.

google
Jaime L
October 6, 2023

We were really surprised by this restaurant, the first impression was not great as the door was locked when we arrived during open hours. But the food was delicious! Fresh and flavourful. The naan was some of the best I have ever had! The menu has so many choices, which is great because we have a couple of fussy eaters. I’m looking forward to going back and trying more dishes.

google
Dianna Tawharu
September 12, 2023

This quiet oasis was a real find on dominion Rd. The vegan dishes are very tasty, butnbut oily and 2 chefs who are also the waiters have a very gentle, kind manner. It's no wonder I go there often to have a delicious lunch in a relaxing environment.

google
Hitesh Patel
September 2, 2023

This was a great find on Dominion Road, fully vegetarian and the food was amazing. Not a long wait for us, from the gol gappa to the samosas which had a nice crispy pastry but soft on the inside. The dosa were amazing (and we clearly ordered with our eyes as we couldn't finish everything). Masala tea was a great way to finish off, we will be back and bring others as well.

google
Rajesh Shah
August 5, 2023

Great fresh food great service and so many choices with fusion food from Nepal China.

google
Dr Yash Maharaj
June 28, 2023

I've visited this restaurant many times and have previously given them a 5-star review however their decline has been consistent and progressive. The owner was utterly indifferent after giving him polite feedback (that he had asked for) that the $15 chaat was disgustingly stale. His staff member had told us that the tea was including with the lunch offer, he flatly denied this and charged us for the tea. The other food that we ordered was alright - average at best. The owner's manner is a deal breaker. I work hard for my money and will definitely be spending it elsewhere in future.

google
HJ Clark
June 18, 2023

This place has consistently excellent vegetarian Indian cuisine with a wide array of options / variety.

google
Hyeon-joo Kim
June 1, 2023

The food is always delicious

google
Keri Shravan
May 21, 2023

Staff very rude. When given feedback about an overburnt curry , the staff retorts saying “That’s your feeling”

google
Yuri
May 2, 2023

Absolutely divine flavours; small place and they clearly take pride in delivering quality food- a little pricier than some fast food style, but definitely worth it. Friendly owner and chef.

google
Simran Singh
March 21, 2023

I have been to Steam several times and enjoyed the food in the past. Last visit was on Friday 17/03. We waited about 30mins for the food and it did not all arrive at the same time. By the time I received my dish, my partner had already finished his. Steam's menu explicitly indicates which of their curries are sweet. I ordered a kaju paneer curry, which did not have the 'sweet' icon next to it, but the dish tasted ridiculously sweet (almost like dessert, no exaggertaion). I politely brought this up with the lady who seemed to be the manager on duty, at the end of our meal and she got extremely defensive. She started tapping her finger on the table and spoke to me with a very condescending tone, saying that it is due to the natural sweetness of the cashews. I was merely responding to her "how was your meal?" question and she took on a very rude tone, raising her voice and interrupting me while I was trying to talk. I would have let this go if not for her rudeness. Not paying $22 for a curry for it to arrive late and the server giving me attitude. Steam has lost a regular customer!

google
Dimple Jain
March 12, 2023

Awesome food and great portion size and reasonable prices. Highly recommended to all for the variety of cuisines available .

google
priyanka savant
February 21, 2023

Ordered some stuff online got notification email regarding my order and chef who is also on counter had not got any information regarding that he is puzzled 🤔 this was my first and last time in this restaurant need to give negative star for so much bad customer service not even apologised for that

google
Sajid Khan
February 12, 2023

So I can visit this place again and thats enough to give 4 star rating to food, ambience and cleanliness. Service was quick and food was delicious, of course there is always a room for improvements, especially making the Smabar more thick is one of it. Overall it was a great experience eating south indian food after a long time.

google
Millan Arora
December 31, 2022

Rubbish service, very rude staff. It’s great to see that you respond online but I can see that you use same language. It was 16 of us and you had no patience to deal with kids maybe ask over the phone first if the group is coming with kids and you don’t host kids and advise that you don’t have the capacity to host 16 people. Secondly you had the nerve to call back and fight over the phone instead of apologising. Also yes we didn’t eat as you don’t have the manners to host guest and will never eat at your place. I don’t believe that anyone would like you yelling at kids that definitely explains who has short temper.

google
Syed Farhan
December 31, 2022

It's been almost an hour, few of us finished food, 2 friends still waiting for theirs order. I can count the staff, total 3 (or could be another one person). I feel sorry for the staff as they're working so hard under pressure. Food was delicious, wait time and table etiquette are missing.

google
Harvinder mall
December 19, 2022

I and other guy stood outside at the counter for more than 10 mints. Had to ring the bell twice, nobody came outside the kitchen to serve us. We both had to leave empty stomach. Your food could be nice but the service was unexpected.

google
Aakanksha NZ
December 9, 2022

Must try best vegeterian food

google
Bhavna Dahya
November 20, 2022

Very delicious food. We went on Saturday night for last minute dinner. The staff was amazing and catered to Gluten Free options very well and the food was just amazing. We ordered medu vada, malai koft, kaju paneer, naan, bajra roti, garlic chutney and sizzler and everything was just yummy. We would highly recommend STEAM. Great food and great friendly staff.

google
dhaval mankad
November 19, 2022

Had ordered catering from this place must say food was excellent and tasty . Highly recommended place .

google
bijal dholakia
October 31, 2022

We went as a group of 4 on Saturday for a homely dinner. The food was amazing. We’re Gujaratis, so we had to try the Gujarati specialities and we loved everything. I do recommend Steam for its quality of ingredients, staffs hospitality, great taste and the vast menu.. just loved it. Going there again for sure!

google
Pratik Patel
October 26, 2022

Ordered kathiyawadi food was deliciously made at best service.👌 Highly recomanded!👍🏼

google
prem patel
October 26, 2022

Highly recommended.

google
rudra patel
October 26, 2022

Very tasty and will come back for sure.

google
Ajay Shah
October 26, 2022

Delicious and highly recommended.

google
Parth Patel
October 26, 2022

Ordered Baingan Bharta, Taste was very salty. Called them to give genuine feedback instead of giving it here. Received lots of excuses and said don’t care about the google reviews if I do it here.

google
pranshu dua
October 25, 2022

Very bad service and tables were not cleaned properly.

google
Ahmed Khimani
October 12, 2022

Great food, but the price is a little high.

google
Urban aquaponics
September 23, 2022

Most happy I walked in to see if I can get lunch today. Gorgeous food and very reasonably priced.

google
sneha patel
September 18, 2022

We visited at steam room on Friday, had the best experience, delicious food and customer service was amazing .

google
Shaila Bhatt
September 16, 2022

Nice food, Nice service

google
Ligin Varghese
September 9, 2022

Not going there again, compared to similar restaurants food is bit more pricey but not worth it. Please don't make the excuse of labor shortage and grocery prices. There are so many better restaurants in Auckland worth the price you are paying for

google
Dalia Jose
September 4, 2022

Very pricey food to start with, Medhu Vada was terrible - very small portion for $12, we did mention to the employee that served us and he agreed that it wasn't the usual quality that they serve! Everything else we ordered was too oily, taste was ok. We are trying to support small businesses by going to them but labour shortage is not an excuse to serve poor quality food. We didn't mind paying more but quality needs to be there.

google
wyn morris
September 3, 2022

Unbelievablely overpriced for food was that was ok. Ambience was basic.

google
kanchi Miss
September 1, 2022

Food are good but price are very high. With single curry n naan N mango lassi $8.5 it’s really high . It’s supposed to be $5 or 5.50 not more than .